DIY Wedding Bouquet

28 Jan

Whew!

So I know it’s been a hot minute since I posted on here, but a lot has happened in the last few months!

The BIG news is that I got engaged to the love of my life!

Bling bling!! Didn’t he do great!? I’m still breathless when I look at it.

The other million things are mostly wedding related- favorite musician booked, favorite photographer booked, invitation designed, registries created, blahblahblah…

Don’t worry, though- I’m not going to turn this into a wedding blog. Mostly I just want to share my wedding bouquet with you because it was a super fun DIY craft adventure that I did, and I’m really proud of it!

I inherited a crazy crafting gene from my mom that makes anything including glue guns, ribbon, sewing, or yarn sound like an amazing adventure, so I thought wedding planning would be a great place to employ it (which is how I also got sucked into spending about a hundred hours in the past week working on our DIY wedding invitation also, but it was totes worth it).

We’re getting married on the Blue Ridge Parkway, and because we’ll be outside in nature, I can’t carry real flowers (ironically, because they may pollinate the area and mess up the original eco-system. Can’t have random hydrangeas growing on top of the mountain…), so I decided to try my hand at making a bouquet.

I found this tutorial at Christmas, and used it to make cute bows for the presents I gave my family (which were a huge hit), so I immediately thought to try it out for my bouquet. I bought 4 different fabrics in the same color family and got to work! I didn’t take pictures of the process of creating the flowers, but you can check out the tutorial if you’re interested in trying it out yourself.

The stems were a little challenging to figure out, but I ended up thinking up a pretty simple solution that I think worked pretty well. Here goes:

So I started out with wire, floral tape, super-skinny dowels, and a glue gun (plus some scrap fabric I had left over).

I took the wire and looped a circle in the middle with two long ends coming out of either side (it doesn’t have to be pretty- it’s getting covered up.).

Then, I glued the circle to the underside of the flower with my glue gun, and covered it with an extra scrap of fabric (to seal in the wire and stick the fabrics together).

Then, I placed the end of the dowel in the middle of the circle and bent the wire ends opposite directions, winding them down the dowel to secure the flower.

Then, I covered the wire/dowel with floral tape. I made sure to wrap it several times over the ends of the wires, so they wouldn’t poke me.

And that’s it! Here’s what the flowers look like from the bottom:

And here’s the finished product!

So I’m still trying to decide how I want to cover the stems (ribbon, burlap, etc) for actually carrying it, but for all intents and purposes, it’s pretty much complete. 🙂

So anyway, I hope this inspires you to some craftiness or general happiness.

Peace, love, and glue guns.

3 Responses to “DIY Wedding Bouquet”

  1. Jennifer January 28, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Those are so so so cute! I’m definitely going to copy those flowers whenever I get up the courage to tackle another DIY craft!

  2. Tabitha @ Glitter and Ganache January 29, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Yay! Looks fantastic!
    And nice solution to the stem problem!

  3. Noelle January 29, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Love it! And can’t wait to see the invites!

Leave a Reply

