Chocolate Stout Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache

26 Jun

Today we interrupt our normal broadcast to bring you a special report in:

Baking!

I’m sure you know by now that I absolutely LOVE to bake. Sunday is my favorite day of the week and generally consists of Bojangles, coupons, and a relaxing afternoon with Kit. However, J.Crew messed that up today by scheduling Kit to work all day, so I decided to take advantage of an empty kitchen and whip up this recipe I’ve been dying to try!

I found this recipe on this awesome blogย I ran across a few weeks ago. I’d be remiss to not mention it, because I did not come up with this recipe.

With that said, I did halve Rainy Day Gal‘s recipe, so unless you want a million cupcakes (especially since I only have a mini cupcake pan- YIKES), this may be easier for you.

So, here goes!

Chocolate Stout Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache

Ingredients:

Ganache:

  • 1/2 lb. (2 c.) Bittersweet Chocolate Chips (I used Ghiradelli 60% cacao chocolate chips- definitely worth the splurge)
  • Edit:: The dark chocolate chips were a little bitter, since the cupcakes aren’t super sweet. I’d use semi-sweet or even milk chocolate next time. my only complaint.
  • 1 c. Whipping Cream
Cupcakes:
  • 2 sticks unsalter butter (I fudged on these since only salted comes in the 2 stick pack- just adjust other salt, if you use salted)
  • 1 c Stout Beer (The original recipe calls for Guiness, but if you’re in NC and can get Highland’s Black Mocha Stout, there’s really no reason to ever use anything else. It’s so delicious. Like coffee and chocolate and beer and heaven… Mmmm)
  • 3/4 c. Cocoa Powder
  • 3/4 c. Sour Cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 c. All- Purpose Flour
  • 2 c. Sugar
  • 1/2 tbs Baking Soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt (or less- depending on your butter situation)
Okay.
So first, you have to make the ganache, because it has to chill for at least 2 hours (which is ideal, since you’ll be baking about a zillion batches of cupcakes to go with it. ๐Ÿ™‚ ) before icing the cupcakes.
I had no idea that ganache was this simple. Here you go:
Put chocolate chips in bowl. Bring whipping cream to simmer in a saucepan. Immediately pour whipping cream over chips and whisk (or use hand mixer) thoroughly.
That’s it! Then you throw it in the fridge to cool and get started on the deliciousness of these cupcakes!
If you ย haven’t already turned on music, I recommend Adele’s new cd, 21. I don’t believe in baking or cooking without music. If you don’t know who Adele is, you should probably put away this entire project and go straight to itunes or your nearest Target and purchase anything you can get your hands on. Then come back to your kitchen, crank up the tunes, and continue.

Next, you melt the butter in a saucepan. Pour your ย beer into the pan as well, bringing it to a simmer (like the ganache), then pour the beer/butter mixture into a bowl with the cocoa powder.

At some point in this process, you’re going to want to preheat your oven to 350. No rush, but don’t forget or it’ll take even longer.

After mixing your beer, butter, and cocoa, set that aside for a few minutes. You’re now going to get another bowl, where you will mix your eggs and sour cream. I am resisting the urge to go on a tangent about how much I love sour cream (it is to me what butter is to Paula Deen and Julia Child), so I will save that for another post. Needless to say, it makes all the difference, so don’t skimp with it! I used light sour cream, which is what I happen to have in my kitchen (you know, trying to be healthy, and all that) and the cupcakes turned out great, so if you’re looking for healthier (I mean, come on- they are chocolate cupcakes) options, go ahead with that one.

After you mix the sour cream and eggs, combine them with your chocolatey, beer-filled goodness.

In another bowl, mix your dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, salt) and then add them to the other mixture. Voila! You’re done with your batter!!

Make sure you line or grease your pans (I’d suggest liners, even though they’re a little annoying when eating the cupcakes- they’re so cute! Plus, greasing a cupcake pan is a pain in the ass.)– made that mistake on my first batch and they totally fell apart.

Which gave me a perfect excuse to eat a lot of them. Take that information as you will.

So here’s the photo proof of how they turned out! I’m pretty proud, myself…

Hope you guys actually try this recipe- I’m telling you. It’s the most delicious thing I’ve ever tasted. Don’t take my word for it. Try it yourself. Mmm!

Happy Baking (and eating!)!!

2 Responses to “Chocolate Stout Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache”

  1. Lisa August 15, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Hey Rachael it looks a cool blog Lis

Leave a Reply

