Pigs Make Good Pets.

6 Jun

This blanket statement stems from a late night conversation I had with Kit last night.

I told him that I thought having a pig as a pet would be super fun and he immediately shot me down. We came to the agreement that if I did ample research, brought a good argument, and polled my readers and got a majority vote from all of my readers (ie- I need you to comment and vote for me having a pig!!), he would reconsider it. 🙂

So I’ve done some research and this is what I’ve found:

The first source I found made this important point:

While pigs have held a place of high status in Chinese and Eastern Asian cultures for centuries, there is a certain stigma attached to the pig in America. Where did all the ridiculous sayings related to pigs originate? “Sweat like a hog.” (Pigs are incapable of sweating.) “Dirty as a pig.” (Pigs are very clean, and if given the opportunity, will only use one corner of their pen as a toilette.) “Stink like a pig.” (Pigs have absolutely no odor.) Now, I can relate to the saying “Eat like a pig.” Pigs really smack their lips and chew with their mouths open…in other words, they are totally food possessed.

  • Pigs are very sociable, adaptable, hearty, clean, and intelligent.
  • While they have no innate sense of right or wrong and have no conscience, they learn quickly and don’t forget what they master.
  • If a pet pig is allowed to exercise regularly, is not overfed, and is examined and vaccinated annually by a veterinarian, she should live to a ripe old age (15-30 years).
  • Non-allergenic in most cases
  • Non-destructive, unlike a puppy
  • Quickly trained: litterbox, tricks, harness, etc.
There is however, the size problem. I mean, I can’t handle a 165lb pet.
But this same source makes a good point to that as well:
“The weight of a pig is deceiving because they are so hard-bodied. A pig who measures 14″ tall by 24″ long and weighs 60 lbs. takes up very little space (about half the dimensions of an ottoman) and is a manageable size for a house pet and travel companion. Compare this size pig to a 100 lb. German Shepherd who is taller and longer than a coffee table, with an extension (the tail) that is capable of knocking everything off the coffee table.”
Also, I found a breed called “Royal Dandies,” which I know sounds stupid and Paris Hilton- esque, but they’re SO cute and they only range from 12 to 29 lbs.
Okay, so here are the cons:
  • Zoning. This is a real issue. You have to check to make sure you’re allowed to have a pet pig where you’re living. Or we could just hide it, since I want a tiny baby one. 🙂
  • Vet. Very important to find the right vet. Living in Raleigh, this shouldn’t be too difficult because we’ve got all sorts of veterinary stuff around here!
  • Pigs are manipulative. “You need to stay one step ahead of your pig or she will train you to do exactly what suits her fancy. Pigs are much like children. They find your weak spot and manipulate until they get their way. If you give a pig an inch, she will most certainly take many miles. However, it is this very intelligence that appeals to many who fancy pigs. You can indeed nurture a very rewarding and interactive relationship with a pig, as a pig will treat you like an equal if given the opportunity.” [This is something that’s said multiple times. I’m not very worried because if you know me, I’m pretty stubborn, so I think I can handle it- but it needs to be mentioned.]

Okay, so leave me a comment and vote YES for a pet pig! Also, help me pick a name!!

2 Responses to “Pigs Make Good Pets.”

  1. Noelle June 6, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    You may have forgotten, but my family DID in fact have an indoor pig as a pet at one point in time (during the Kerwin years) so I think I can provide you will some “hands on experience” research for Kit. 😉

    Remember him? He was black and his name was “Pig”
    He was best friends with our cat Tiger.
    He had a leash and lived inside.

    Pros:

    Super cute
    Can be trained just like dogs
    Got along with the other animals
    Was very clean since his house was inside and not a mud pit

    Cons:
    They’re not as cuddly as you want them to be (like a dog) they’re a little skiddish.
    They get quite large (not a problem if you get a Paris Hilton Pig)

    Oh and my official vote for the blog is “YES” 😉

  2. Noelle June 6, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    At the moment you have the majority vote.

    And I know it’s cliche, but I’d totally love a pig named Wilbur. 😉

Leave a Reply

