Everyone Needs a Favorite Poet.

31 May

So this isn’t necessarily funny or controversial, but I believe it wholeheartedly.

I’m so thankful for having discovered my love of poetry. I think poetry is for everyone; though I’m not saying everyone should sit for hours reading books of poetry.

What I’m saying is that people (and musicians- especially pop musicians) don’t spend enough time choosing their words, so finding a person that is careful about the word choice, order and structure of their thoughts is a special thing. And you should probably listen to what they have to say.

My favorite poet is Rumi. I wrote about him when I first discovered him last year, and still find daily inspiration in his words. For those of you who wondered about the phrase I got tattooed on the inside of my arm– here’s the context:

Today, like every other day, we wake up empty

and frightened. Don’t open the door to the study

and begin reading. Take down a musical instrument.

Let the beauty we love be what we do.

There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.

I just love that. I’m convinced that everyone has some sort of “calling,” “purpose,” “passion,” whatever you want to call it, but I think that if we all took a moment to tap into it and center our lives around the pursuit of it, we’d all be a lot happier. And that ties in to my rant about poetry because I think that finding a poet that you connect to can help you realize things that you hadn’t thought about before.

All that to say- check out some poets. There’s something out there for everyone.

Here’s my list of favorites:

1. Rumi : The Essential Rumi translated by Coleman Barks is my favorite collection.

2. E.E. Cummings: Totally not as cliche as you’re thinking. He’s got WAY more stuff than “i carry your heart.”

3. Sara Teasdale: I heard one of her poems set to music a few years ago and was immediately enthralled.

4. Dr. Seuss: Come on. You can’t go wrong.

And if you want to listen to some awesome, poetic music, check out:

1. Missy Higgins: Try “Falling.”

2. Adele: “Rolling in the Deep”

3. The Weepies: “Be My Thrill”

4. The Lovell Sisters: “You Remain”

 

 

Sorry for the lack of humor, guys. I’ll make it up to you next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

