Cheap Haircuts Look Cheap

26 May

So here we are, friends. The first post of this new blog adventure I’m working on.

I’ve been racking (sp?) my brain to come up with a good first blanket statement post, so I chose one that’s close to my heart. You’ve probably heard me say it, or read when I touched on it in this post. Call me elitist (you probably already do if you read this blog at all) if you want, but unless you want to look like this kid, you should probably heed my warning.

To clarify:

Cheap Haircuts Look Cheap!

I’m not saying there aren’t extenuating circumstances… Or maybe I am. It is a blanket statement, right? I should stick to my premise. I believe that if you want to look like you have a good, expensive haircut, you have to pay for that. More than once, Kit has gotten a haircut in the mall when I was visiting for a weekend and I ended up cutting around his ears with my pocket knife in the next store. It wasn’t pretty. Don’t let that be you. My best advice is to force one of your closest family members, such as a brother, sister, cousin, etc. into the field. That way, they can become your indentured servant, you get a discount on services, and they can start paying you back for all the shit they did to you when you were kids. 🙂 Or that’s my current tactic, anyway.

Come on. Let’s all just be honest. We’ve all been there. That one time you figured “Oh it won’t be that bad” and ended up in the chair of some chain smoker named “Candie” with fried hair that she couldn’t even tell you the natural color of… Yeah, not your most shining moment.

Then think about the last time you went to a high end salon. Or have you? If you haven’t- you must, as soon as possible. I’m convinced it’s the closest thing to heaven on earth. Their entire goal is to make you feel and look as good as possible. They bring you in, have awesome magazines for you to read if you have to wait, offer you coffee, wine, tea, you name it… Then you get a massage while they’re washing your hair and have the complete attention of a person who will listen to you babble on about whatever you want for 45 minutes to an hour. Plus it’s their job to be supportive, too, so you don’t have to worry like when you tell your best friend something and she has an obligation to tell you the truth.

Basically, it’s awesome.

So there. Consider yourselves warned when you feel the urge to pull up to the SuperCuts and get a little trim-trim. I will not feel sorry for you.

2 Responses to “Cheap Haircuts Look Cheap”

  1. Meryl May 26, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    This is why I love you and your awesome head of hair. Move to boulder!! I will go to fancy salons with you.

Leave a Reply

