14 Years Ago…

26 Apr

Once upon a time, there were two friends named Noelle and Rachel. They met at the young age of 8 and were destined for a lifetime of friendship. During the course of their friendship, they would do many hilarious and embarrassing things, but none as memorable as:

For those of you who don’t recognize this, here’s the backstory:

I’ve been friends with Noelle for almost 2/3 of my life. When we were little, we liked to think that we had better ideas/imaginations than most kids our age, and whether or not that was true, I can say that in our time, we have come up with some pretty ridiculous stuff. Our tv show, “You Want to Be a Zillionaire” only didn’t make it past the pilot, but we still consider it one of our larger “successes.”

At some point in my childhood, my parents bought a videocamera. Anyone who grew up in the 90s remembers this as a momentous occassion. It sounded like an awesome idea back then, but considering the available technology, only ended up crystallizing in time embarrassing events (you know, ballet and piano recitals, cheerleading competitions, etc) with poor quality, making them even more embarrassing.

If only we’d known what a TERRIBLE videographer I would be (on top of the embarrassing idea we’d come up with, coupled with low quality film…), maybe this wouldn’t still be in existence. But what a shame that would be for all of us.

I know you’re already thinking that you can’t wait to see this video, but I’m going to have to go ahead and disappoint. I will look the next time I’m in High Point, but for now, you’re going to have to use your little imaginations. 🙂

Okay, so you’ve got:

Me and Noelle (I’m on the left, although we look alike, so it doesn’t really matter),

These kids ^ (Tommy and Ashelyn),

A whole hoard of stuffed animals, and my obliging mother,

and you’ve got the cast list!

It may look simple, but this was an elaborate show. We drew (by hand, obviously) the logo and cast lists; I manned the camera and held them up at the appropriate moment, while cueing the boombox (all shows have theme music!) to play the carefully chosen songs, and Noelle played “Regina Filmit.” She interviewed the guests and asked them each questions such as the one below:

Difficult stuff, huh? This is why it was worth a ZILLION dollars and not a mere million, like the dumb tv version.

If I’m not mistaken, Tommy ended up being our winner, although now that I think of it, I haven’t seen any of that zillion dollars he was awarded… Isn’t it sad when greed gets the best of people? Ahem.

So anyway, there’s the story. I really will look for the tape the next time I’m in High Point, because I feel like it’s just too good not to be shared with the world.

Hope you guys enjoyed this. I know at least one person did, and that’s all that matters. Here’s to 15 more years…

Love you, Noe. 🙂

2 Responses to “14 Years Ago…”

  1. Meryl April 26, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    so this may be more embarassing considering the fact that we were in 7th grade when it happened…

    but Bethany, Kristen and myself made a tv show, too. Only- we went the cooking show route. It was called eMERYL live (like emmeril, get it??) and im pretty sure the topic was chocolate 🙂

    please, please find the video of you and noelle. I need to see it!

  2. Noelle G McLaughlin April 26, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    I was lounging on my bed when my husband walked in and goes, “I just saw a picture of you and Rachel in the bathtub together.” Haha. He read and enjoyed this post before I even got to it, just so ya know. 🙂

    Love you back. I’m pretty sure we’ll be friends forever. After all, we’re stubborn, and they told we wouldn’t make it past elementary school. And that pissed us off. 😉

Leave a Reply

