Oh, The Places We’ll Go [das Ende]

19 Apr

OoooooKay!! It’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for…

This is the last post in the series of places that Kit and I may go (This is not to say that I won’t eventually add another place to the list later, if one arises, but for now- this is the list of “definite” possibilities.).

Our last, but most definitely not least, option is….

[insert timpani here]

Boulder, CO!

Pros:

  • Among 14 comparable cities, Boulder ranks no.1 in people who walk to work, work at home and drive with more than one person in the car. It ranks second among those who bike.
  • A 1992 survey by the Centers for Disease Control found that Colorado had fewer overweight people per capita and more people who exercise than any other state.
  • With Coors, Anheuser-Busch and local microbreweries, this area has become the largest beer-producing triangle in the world.
  • Boulder has more used bookstores per capita than any other city in the country.
  • Four distinct seasons and over 300 sunny days a year. (More than San Diego or Miami!)

Cons:

  • Expensive housing. Every website says so. Also, this eloquent, anonymous person: “well im extremily poor and i dont like boulder its boulder if u come here u might live in lowincome housing like me and it boring there r 2 gangs in boulder 34 and 13 but they aint like LA summers r hot winters r cold and we got hobos and weirdos dont bring money in trailer parks.”
  • Yuppies. (Also, cited by several websites. Same wording everywhere)
  • “Real” winter. (I don’t care if it says ‘mild’ or not. I hate snow.)

Fun Facts:

  • Boulder’s Third Flatiron towers 1,400 feet high, a few hundred feet higher than theEmpire State Building, and has been climbed by people without using their hands, on roller skates, naked and in 8 minutes (by separate climbers). (Kit, it’s a new goal!)
  • Boulder boasts more than 30 art galleries, 4 local museums, 32 movie & stage theaters and many festivals, including the Colorado Shakespeare Festival and the Colorado Music Festival.
  • Boulder is famous for its status as one of the most liberal cities in Colorado, its colorful Western history, being a choice destination for hippies in the late 1960s, and as home of the main campus of the University of Colorado, the state’s largest university.
I hope y’all have enjoyed this and maybe learned a little more about some places that you didn’t know. Regardless, I know I did… Although I have to admit, looking up all this information still hasn’t helped me make up my mind. But then again, maybe that’s best…

“Follow your bliss, and doors will open for you that you never knew existed. Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you where there were only walls.” – Joseph Campbell

Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4


2 Responses to “Oh, The Places We’ll Go [das Ende]”

  1. Noelle April 19, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Colorado is gorgeous. Meryl lives there. You get used to the snow (which is technically beautiful) and once you learn how to properly dress (which I’m positive you have yet to master) it’s not as cold as you think. Sunny days even when there’s snow aren’t half bad. 😉

  2. Meryl April 26, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    ok so I was going to leaave a comment about how I was somehow left our of the “pros” section- but Noelle already added me 🙂

    am I allowed to vote multiple times?? because I will vote until I see your beautiful face. oh- and I think I would like to meet this Kit person, too. he seems pretty cool to me!

    i also think noelle and john paul should consider the great state of colorado. the end.

Leave a Reply

