Toothpaste: True Love 101

14 Apr

It dawned on me yesterday that I haven’t really written anything on this blog about Kit. I guess most of the people that are reading this blog probably know him, but I don’t often get the chance to brag on how awesome he is, so I am going to take this time to explain a little of why he’s the perfect match for me.

Simply put, he changed toothpaste brands for me.


This may sound like a small concession to most of you, but it carries strong implications. First of all, if you know me well, you know that I am a little excited about brushing my teeth. Often. Now I’m not one of those crazy people that has receding gums or OCD or anything, but I definitely brush my teeth after meals and NEVER go to bed without brushing them. Add on top of that the fact that I’ve been using the same, cheap, blue toothpaste (AIM, for you curious ones) my ENTIRE life… And it’s just become one of my “things.”

Kit, on the other hand, is of course more laid back and less particular about his brand of toothpaste and general tooth brushing habits, but happened to be using the one brand of toothpaste that I hate most (Aquafresh. Blech). It started out simple enough: I’d go visit him, inevitably forget my toothpaste, and then remember with horror each time I needed to brush my teeth. I tried the passive agressive, “My toothpaste is better than yours,” approach, to no avail, and finally flat out said- “Nevermind, we can just always have our own tubes of toothpaste.”

Then, the last time I went to Asheville for the weekend, I went into his bathroom, and there- in all it’s glory- was a new tube of AIM toothpaste.

I didn’t even ask him to change it! He just did it because he loves me. And because I’m crazy. And that’s why he’s the perfect person for me.

In addition to indulging my toothpaste psychosis, Kit is also my very best friend. Before we even started dating, he was the one I knew I could count on to listen when I needed someone, to take me somewhere to get my mind off of whatever was stressing me, and to make me laugh over something stupid.

Now, he’s so much more. He writes me love letters, y’all. Real ones. You know, like the ones in the movies, handwritten on his personal stationery; the ones that are poetic and beautiful and you almost hate them because you think that no one is like that in real life?? Those. And it doesn’t get old or boring, because there are funny ones in between the romantic ones.

The other part I love best about Kit is how he supports and challenges me. I’ve been in a relationship before where I felt completely second-rate compared to the person I was dating. And being with someone intelligent, hard working, honest, and truly talented like Kit, my brain threw up little warning flags. But that’s the beauty of a good relationship. I’m convinced that Kit believes in me even more than I believe in me. He’s given me the perfect balance of 100% support, but not a smothering feeling of “needing” to be by his side in order to do something. He frees me and pushes me to work hard and be the best person I can be, and then sticks with me every step of the way when I think that a task will be too hard.

Case in point- see the picture of me with my mandolin at the top of the page? That was my Christmas gift from Kit. I have always talked about wanting to be able to play an instrument that I could sing and accompany myself. I tried guitar and it was a royal failure. I felt discouraged, but I couldn’t let go of this fanciful picture of myself being “the cute girl on stage with the [insert instrument here].” I mentioned a mandolin one day (I don’t even remember this conversation) and how maybe it could be my new instrument (I’ve just lately realized my complete obsession with folk music). So, Kit bought me one for Christmas. Complete with extra strings, a book, tuner, picks, etc.

It was so beautiful and overwhelming, and exactly what I wanted, but in that moment, I completely panicked. I saw myself ruining this wonderful gift- I saw Kit wanting me to play and not being able to, I saw him feeling disappointed in me and angry because I didn’t “try hard enough.”

But that’s just the thing, I saw those things. They weren’t real. I projected all of my fears into a situation where they didn’t exist. I told him how I felt, and we talked through it, and he’s been more than encouraging with every tiny accomplishment. He’s clapped and exclaimed over silly things like me picking a scale and playing my first chord progression (albeit TERRIBLY). It doesn’t matter, because he believes in me.

Basically, I’ve found the perfect person that I want to spend my life with, and I couldn’t be more excited about the grand adventure of seeing where the future takes us. And I needed to share that with someone. 🙂

2 Responses to “Toothpaste: True Love 101”

  1. Noelle April 14, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    This post made me think of the endless debate we used to have between “Paste” & “Gel” as kids. Haha.

  2. Meryl April 17, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    This made me cry. I think that Kit is awesome and I don’t know him. I am glad you found your other half, love.

Leave a Reply

