Once a Yooper, Always a Yooper!

6 Jul

This update comes to you live from Bigby Coffee in Wasau, WI! I know, I know, I am supposed to be in Raleigh, NC right now, but apparently the universe had other plans for me.

There are so many stories from the grand adventure that I’ve just experienced, but too many to explain right now, so suffice it to say that I am still proud to be a Carolina girl, I miss my sweet tea & biscuits, but I have a larger appreciation now for lakes, cheese, and Midwesterners.

I know you’re probably wondering why I’m still in Wisconsin, so here’s the story of what happened yesterday:

We got up at 4am on Monday to start driving back to NC and got 15 minutes down the road when McDuffie’s engine started revving on the interstate. The clutch had been feeling funny for a few days, but McDuff is kinda old, so we figured it would be okay. Then all the sudden, no matter what gear we were in, he couldn’t accelerate. We rolled off an exit & tried to get to a back road by a gas station. I called dad and he told me to call Allstate Motor Club to get a tow. This part went fine. I called, gave them my account number, and they sent a towing company, which arrived within a half hour. Tow truck guy took us to Toyota of Wausau, which opened 30 minutes after we arrived.

Everything seemed like it would be okay, at that point. We were the first people in the garage, which gave us preference. Front desk guy, Rob, was also really nice. So I signed a piece of paper that authorized them to take $105 of my money to “diagnose” my problem (not fix it, mind you), and we started the wait.

At this point, I’d been on the phone with my parents about 30 times, and Kit had talked to both of his parents as well. (I also need to mention that I hate having to ask for help, especially from my parents, as much as I love and adore them.) Front Desk Rob started asking me all kinds of questions that I didn’t know the answers to, so I called my dad and let them talk to each other. Naturally, my dad started hard-nosing him about prices & stuff… Which although expected, was still kind of embarassing. But hey, I don’t have $1500, so whatever he can get me out of paying, I will accept.

What I gathered of the problem was that they don’t have the parts to fix my car here in WI. They needed to get them shipped, and they could get Napa parts shipped same day, but dad doesn’t approve of Napa parts in my Toyota car, so he wanted to find other parts. So dad “called his guys” (his phrase, not mine), and magically found parts that he could ship to me by Wednesday.

Dad told me to call Allstate back & tell them that I’d like a rental car & reimbursement for meals & lodging because my plan includes “trip interruption” if I’m stranded more than 100 miles from home. I called & “Adam” (that’s my most disdainful voice) told me that I’m not even listed on the insurance plan. This happened to me last summer & dad called and threatened to switch to AAA and they added me back to the policy, so I am sure that I am listed. I told “Adam” that he was wrong and needed to get me a damn rental car & I wasn’t paying for it, and that if he needed to take that up with “the primary policy holder” then that’s what was going to happen.

So once again, my dad had to come to my rescue and call someone for me because no one recognizes me as an autonomous, legitimate individual.

Long LONG long story short, we got a rental car and I’m saving all of my receipts so they will have to reimburse me for all of my meals.

Now for my social justice rant for the day:

When we were in Chicago, volunteers for the Human Rights Campaign were out talking to people trying to raise awareness for their cause. If you’re unfamiliar with HRC, it is the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender civil rights organization. They are fighting for things like the repeal of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell (which I’ve blogged about before), gay marriage, etc. The volunteers had information that is not mentioned in the mainstream media. For instance, did you know that in 29 states, you can be fired because of sexual orientation? Well it’s ridiculous, and I think we should all get involved. There are tons of ways, so check out the website if you’re interested.

Light Green Box States that prohibit discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity. (12 states and D.C.)

Dark Green Box States that prohibit discrimination based on sexual orientation alone. (9 states)

Leave a Reply

