Peanut Butter & Jelly.

26 Jun

§

When I am with you, we stay up all night.

When you’re not here, I can’t go to sleep.

Praise God for these two insomnias!

And the difference between them.

§

The minute I heard my first love story

I started looking for you, not knowing

how blind that was.

Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere.

They’re in each other all along.

§

The word soul speaks to that space inside each of us that we cannot physically see or touch. It is the center of emotions and conscience. That magical place where we are entirely at home. A mate is both a noun and verb. Noun: the mate of a shoe, the First Mate on a ship. Couples with the other to create a pair, a team. The verb: the action of joining together, becoming one.

Soulmate. The person who speaks to the deepest part of me. The one who fills the sacred space. A complement, a hand to fill the spaces between fingers.

I am autonomous. I have an identity, a strength, a personality. Yet, there is a person who also makes me feel whole. How do you reconcile the two? One doesn’t negate the truth of the other. They are simultaneous. Rumi fits it together. “Lovers don’t meet somewhere. They’re in each other all along.”

It seems like a movie phrase, “It was meant to be, all along,” or “I knew it, all along…” But maybe there’s more truth to it than we account for. It gives explanation to that funny feeling I get when things fit just too perfectly. When shared thoughts and beliefs become too coincidental. When you think about the other person & your phone rings. When you turn your head to tell them something and they speak it back to you.

Connection. Love. Soul. Heart.

We belong together.

Leave a Reply

