Miss Sarah Mac, Mac, Mac…

9 May

I have a friend named Sarah Mac.

Okay, so her name is actually Sarah McCoy, but a name like that begs to be shortened to something awesome like Sarah Mac. Have you ever had one of those weeks where a person was just on your mind? At church, they say, “You’ve been on my heart lately.” Usually, that means people have been gossiping about you or you posted something inappropriate on your facebook. In this case, I’ve just been feeling thankful for my life, and she’s a big thing I’m thankful for.

Here’s a visual of Sarah Mac. She is beautiful and has a really unique style. She always looks put together with cute, interesting outfits, but somehow still makes it look like she didn’t try at all. Like she was born into an Urban Outfitters catalog, & this is how everyone’s life is. It’s actually kind of sickening. Here’s something else you should know about Sarah Mac. She pretends she’s quiet. I know, that makes no sense. But she does. She’s a sneaky one, this friend of mine.

So this mysterious girl spent all last semester in choir with me & I noticed her sweet clothes every day thinking, “How does she always look so cute!? We should be friends.”

One day, Kit & I were walking across campus and I saw Sarah Mac standing in front of the Soda Shop. I turned to him & said, “Do you know Sarah? Because I feel like she & I could be good friends, but I don’t know her that well. I really want to invite her to go shopping at the J.Crew sale with us this weekend, but I don’t know if we’re at that point yet.” To which Kit replied, “Oh, I know her. We’re definitely at that point. We’re inviting her. Come on.”

That one moment was the best decision I made all semester.

It turned into a shopping and downtown Asheville adventure day of wonder. We ate at Five Guys, shopped ’til we dropped, listened to live music in Pritchard Park… It was awesome.

Before I knew it, Scott had become my black boyfriend, Kit became my white one, and Sarah became my sister.

We went to the Vance Birthplace.

We made cake for Scott’s birthday.

We formed a band called Audrey & the Peter Punk Kids, in memory of our awesome Halloween costumes.

Kit once told Sarah, “Listen,  Honey. This friendship is not a spectator sport. We know you have funny things inside your head that you simply choose not to say, so you’re going to have to start sharing all of that biting wit with us.” And you know what? She did!

This amazing side of my beautiful friend came out, and we all fell more in love with her than we were already. She always has that one funny thing to say that everyone is thinking. She inspires me with her immense musical talent and infectious laughter. She has a way with words and writes beautifully. She has great taste. Her hair is awesome.

I had the best last semester in college a girl could ask for. There are tons of people to thank for that, and Sarah Mac is one of them.

I have a friend named Sarah Mac. And she’s my favorite.

Leave a Reply

